Johns Hopkins University

Founded in 1876 and named for its philanthropist benefactor, The Johns Hopkins University is a private, not-for-profit research institution located in Baltimore, Maryland. The school is divided into nine divisions, including the Krieger School of Arts and Sciences, the Whiting School of Engineering, the School of Education, and the Carey Business School - all located on the Homewood campus in northern Baltimore. The schools of Medicine, Public Health, and Nursing can be found on the east Baltimore campus along with The Johns Hopkins Hospital. According to the National Science Foundation, since 1979, Johns Hopkins has been awarded more federal funding for research and development in science, medicine, and engineering, than any other university. As of 2011, 37 Nobel Prize winners have been affiliated with Johns Hopkins University.