The George Washington University

Chartered by the United States Congress, the George Washington University (GWU) was founded in 1821 in downtown Washington, D.C. GWU is spread out among three campuses: Foggy Bottom and Mount Vernon in D.C., and the Virginia Science and Technology Campus in Ashburn, Virginia. The university offers a variety of degrees, ranging from undergraduate, graduate and professional, online, and off-campus. With ten colleges and schools, students can pursue studies in medicine, international affairs, and renowned programs in GW's Law School and Graduate School of Education and Human Development.